0800 077 6180
Calls from mobiles may be charged
If you are struggling with your DMP get advice and help here
By SimpleSi
I have been paying my DMP for about 18 months but now I have lost my guaranteed overtime at work. This means that I will probably lose about £75 a month. I am paying £180 into my DMP at the moment so this will take the amount I can afford down to about £100 a month and mean that I am going to be paying my debt back for years. I have thought about bankruptcy but I do not want to be evicted. I rent privately. Any suggestions?
By Hayden
Hello SimpleSi and welcome :)

Sorry to hear that you have lost your overtime. I think it is a pretty common thing at the moment. If you are renting and your DMP is going to take you a long time to repay your debt then bankruptcy might be a good option to consider. If you are renting from a private landlord then generally speaking you will have nothing to worry about.

You need to be aware that your landlord would be told about the bankruptcy. However if you speak to them first and explain that it will mean that you can still afford to pay the rent and in fact it will make their rent payments even more secure, I am sure they will be fine. If the landlord knows you and you have not missed payments in the past, I am sure they would prefer you to remain in the property rather than have it empty and have to find a new tennant who might not be such a good payer.
By James Falla
Hello SimpleSi

As Geraldine has said, your landlord may well be sympathetic if you explain the situation to them before hand. They will prefer to stick with a paying tennant that they know rather than have to find someone new. I know it is not easy but I would try to have a chat with them and see what they say.
By Geraldine